Tags

#Writing Community Blog Award

*le gasp!* What’s this!? An actual Jen post on a Monday!? Is she finally back to a regular posting schedule now? …eh, don’t jinx it. XD

Okay, on a less dramatic note, I was tagged by Issabelle over on Teen Writers’ Nook for the #Writing Community Blog Award! Thank you so much, Issabelle! ❤ The tag was created by Lauryn Trimmer at Pro Story Builders

THE RULES

1. Display the award logo on your site.

2. Link back to the person who tagged you.

3. Answer 5 questions.

4. Tag 3 blogs (must be blogs related to writing, not book review blogs) and ask them 5 new questions.

5. Follow as many blogs with this award as you can!

The Questions

What made you start writing?

Aaaah, my writer origin story. 😉 Well, I’ve always had a very active and vivid imagination, I was the baby who babble talked with her cheerios before eating them. My childhood was filled with playing pretend, I turned even schoolwork into some sort of make-believe game, and when I wasn’t making up my own stories, I was consuming someone else’s whether it was a book or a TV show/movie.

Over the years I had made several attempts at writing my own stories, but most never made it past the opening paragraph. I thought a writer just sat and wrote the whole book with no trouble at all (yes, that was very naïve. XD) and since I was having trouble it must mean I wasn’t a writer. And yet, writing still called to me. So I would try again and again, each time I would give up as soon as I hit a hard spot, never making it past page one.

It wasn’t until the summer of 2015 when I finally realized I was a writer. My little brother was working on a fanfiction sequel to a series we both loved and asked me to help. Fanfiction I can do, I’ve been making up my own versions of how things went for the stories I loved my whole life. While we were writing it, he asked me a kind of offhanded question, it was so innocent and simple yet it finally awoke the writer within me. He asked me to write my own story.

And here I am, almost six years later, still writing my own stories. Looking back I really believe God created me to be a writer, I may not have started as young as some of you, but I do know I will continue to write the rest of my life.

Aaannd that was a long answer! Sorry! Next question!

Do you ever have any days when you question why you’re a writer?

Yes! Whenever the writing gets hard, and that’s often! I question if I’m really supposed to be a writer. And on really bad days, I question why I even stick with it when there are much less frustrating things to do. But then I remember not only how much I love my characters, but how much I love the very act of writing. Feeling the keys of my keyboard while I breathe life into the imaginings of my heart? That is an experience I never want to give up and wouldn’t trade for anything in the world.

What’s a recent tip you’ve learned for writing?

I’ve known this for awhile, but I only recently started letting myself do it. Just write, don’t worry about anything else. Let yourself write the story that wants to be told, and if it’s different than what you thought, you can rewrite later. Don’t edit an unfinished story.

Please note, that applies to me but maybe not to you. If you need to edit as you go, awesome. You do that and write the best story you can. If you are like me, please, allow your story and yourself to breathe. It’s okay if there are inconsistencies or plotholes. No, it’s not exactly fun fixing them later, but after struggling and struggling with my very first story to the point where even thinking about it nearly made me have a panic attack, I learned I need to hold my story loosely and let it tell whatever story it wants to.

What’s your favorite writerly quote?

I’ll be honest, I had to Google some for this question because I don’t have any memorized. Here’s one that really speaks to me right now; This is how you do it: you sit down at that keyboard and you put one word after another until it’s done. It’s that easy, and that hard. – Neil Gaiman

Do you have someone you consider like your writing mentor?

Well, during my first few years as a writer, I devoured every writing book and the few writing blogs I knew of, one of which was Gail Carson Levine’s blog. I read her entire blog and kept going back to certain posts when I had trouble. So, for those years, Mrs. Levine was my unofficial writing mentor. But now, I don’t really have someone I consider my writing mentor, though it’d be nice to have one. On second thought, I suppose books are my writing mentor, I know that sounds silly, but reading teaches you how to write through osmosis and you can also study a book and see how it’s author did certain things.

Thanks so much, Issabelle for tagging me! I hope y’all enjoyed my answers and learning more about my writer life!

I tag:

Christine Smith @ Bright Words in Darkened Worlds

Tara Savannah @ Tower in the Plains

Deborah O’Carroll @ The Road of a Writer

Here’s my questions!

  1. Do you have a favourite character trope?
  2. Can you introduce us to the main character (or characters) from your latest WIP?
  3. How do you feel about cliffhangers from an author’s perspective?
  4. What genre and/or time period do you feel at home writing in?
  5. Do you prefer writing stand-alones or series?

What about you? If you’re a writer, what would you answer to the above? (My questions or Issabelle’s.) If you’re not a writer, what would you answer as a reader?

Tell me in the comments! 😀

30 thoughts on “#Writing Community Blog Award”

  1. YES I SECOND THAT BOOKS ARE MY WRITING MENTOR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *takes deep breath* Sorry ’bout that, I just was like that is soooo true. 🙂 Anyway, I LOVED reading your answers!!!!!! *dances* It was EPIC!!!! I ADORE your writerly quote!!! Yeah, I don’t have a lot memorized either so it was okay to Google it. 😉 I shall now proceed to answer your questions ’cause they look really fun.
    1. Nope. As long as your character trope is awesome and done right I’m okay with whatever!!!!!!!! =)
    2. My main character is Prince Keenum. He’s a kind and thoughtful boy but also a fierce warrior. No one would fight harder for his kingdom than him. He also has a secret writer side to him. 🙂
    3. I. LOVE. CLIFFHANGERS!
    4. Fantasy and either the modern world or a medieval kingdom.
    5. Series.
    Again, I LOOOOOOVED reading your answers and this post!!!!!

    Liked by 4 people

    1. YESSSS!!! *high-fives* Hehe, that’s okay! ^_^ I’m glad you agree. ❤

      *dances with you* Eeep! Thank you so much!!! And thank you again for tagging me!!! <333 Aww, thanks! *stage whispers* I just found it last night when I remembered I had yet to look one up. XD I do believe I have heard it before though, and it really echoes my place in my writing journey right now. ^_^ Aaah! Yay!
      Haha, same! Though I am partial to the hardened soldier-boys who are actual softies, and the conflicted antiheroes who think they have to be bad guys but then have an epic redemption arc. 🙂
      OOOOHHH!!! Prince Keenum sounds AWESOME!!! And he has a secret writer side!? Coolness!! 😀
      *grins* I do too, as long as they're done right and don't make me feel like I want to chunk the book across the room. 😉
      Fantasy for the win! It's my favourite too. 🙂 Modern world or medieval kingdom are great choices.
      Series' are the best. *nods* Though, I cannot seem to write a standalone to save my life. Every story I touch turns into a series! XD *distant sobbing* ;p
      THANK YOU!!! <333

      Liked by 3 people

  2. Oh my goodness!! The story of how you discovered you were a writer is absolute ADORABLENESS. I cannot…

    And UGH. I totally understand the struggle of wondering whether or not you’re a writer. It’s awful and a constant concern for me, but I think the fact that we continue writing even WHILE struggling through the doubt makes us more true to being writers than anything. And DUDE. I completely forgot that Gail Carson Levine had a blog! I’ve only read a couple posts from her, I think, but I’m 100% going back and studying her words now. She’s an incredible woman, and I so adore her. XD

    Also LOVE that quote you chose from Neil Gaimon! He’s definitely one of my favorite authors, even though I technically haven’t read him yet. The way he explains writing in interviews just speaks to my very soul.

    This tag looks like so much fun! I might have to steal it like the sneaky snek I am…. 👀👀👀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awww, meep. Thank you so much! <33

      I think I read a quote somewhere that said something like, "If you question whether or not you are actually a writer, then you *are* a writer." Or something like that.. eheh. I think the actual quote sounded better than my paraphrasing. YES! *high-fives* I agree that continuing to write THROUGH the doubt makes us true writers. ^_^ Oh, yay! I love her blog and am so glad to have reminded you of it. ^_^ She was my first favourite author and I've loved all the books I've read of hers. ❤

      Cool! I haven't read anything by him yet either. XD Oooh, I'll have to look up his interviews then! 😀

      It is fun! Oooh! Yes! Go ahead and steal it, you little sneaky snek! XD ^_^ I'd love to read your answers! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved reading your answers!!! And I love your story on how you became a writer!!
    You came up with some REALLY fun questions!!!
    1. No, probably because I had to google what a “trope” was. XD
    2. My main character (for a short story I’m writing) is Macy Higgins who’s personality is still coming out. (As in, I just started writing about her and haven’t really decided on a personality yet XD)
    3. From an author’s perspective, I love them!!
    4. Historical fiction with a little mystery thrown in. I really like the 18th and 19th centuries’ time period.
    5. definitely series, although if I ever finish a novel it will probably be a stand-alone. 🙂
    Issabelle had some great questions and you had amazing answers!!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Awww, thank you SO much, Jane!!!
      I’m glad you enjoyed them! 😀
      *facepalm* I should have had an explanation. Sorry.
      Oooh! New characters are so fun to get to know! I hope getting to know Macy goes great! ^_^
      Nice!
      Mystery Historical fiction is so fun! I like those centuries too! 🙂
      Haha, same! Though, I doubt I’ll ever have a stand-alone, all my stories end up as a series. XD
      She did have some really great questions! Thank you! ^_^

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Aww, I loved your story of how you became a writer!
    I already answered Issa’s questions, so now I shall answer yours.
    1. To be honest, I’ve got no idea. 😂
    2. For my latest WIP, The Anointed, I decided it would be a novel from the perspective of St. Paul’s youngest nephew, Seth. Seth is 7-10 years old during the course of the novel. He’s very tenderhearted and compassionate, but he’s gone through trauma in his young life that have made him put on a bitter and hardened exterior. He’s got a temper and he never speaks without passion.
    3. I love cliffhangers! They’re epic and I love pulling them on readers.
    4. Biblical fiction in the Biblical time period. (I love writing in either the Old or New Testament time period. Both are awesome.)
    5. It depends. If a story calls for a stand-alone, I’ll be thrilled to write it. But if a story calls for a series, I’ll be thrilled to write that, too. It’s wherever God leads me with a specific story.
    AWESOME post! I loved reading your answers!

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thank you so much! ^_^

      Lol, that’s alright! 😀
      Oh, cool! Aww, poor Seth. He sounds like a great character, though! I like the contrast of his tenderheartedness and his bitterness caused by trauma.
      *beams* Cliffhangers are fun! 😀
      Nice! Biblical fiction is a wonderful genre! ^_^
      That’s a wonderful way to view your stories! ^_^ <333
      Awww, thanks!!! ❤ ^_^

      Liked by 2 people

    1. *beams* It’s a really good one! 😀
      Exactly! Oooh! Nice! I haven’t read any of her books yet, but I’ve seen some of the ones that have been turned into movies. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You haven’t read any of her books yet?!?!?!😱 What are you waiting for? XD XD
        The Tale of Despereaux by her was sooo good!!!! And Because of Winn-Dixie is one of my favorite movies so I can’t wait to read the book soon!

        Liked by 1 person

        1. *sits in corner of shame* I don’t know? 😉 I just have been reading so many other books that I haven’t had time? We do own some of her books, I think I’ll read Despereaux first, I really enjoyed the movie. 🙂 Ooh! I watched Because of Winn-Dixie ages ago but I loved it! I hope you enjoy the book!! ^_^

          Liked by 1 person

          1. 😄 Haha, yeah, that’s how I am. My TBR is soooooo high it’s hard to read everything.😉 I own a lot of her books too and have only read some of them. Cool!!!!!!! I didn’t know there was a movie on The Tale of Despereaux. I’ll totally have to check it out!!! I hope you enjoy the book and when you do read it, let me know what you think.🙂 You’ve seen Because of Winn-Dixie too?!?!?!?!😀 AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!! *high-fives* I think I will LOVE the book!!!!!!!❤️ ^_^

            Liked by 1 person

            1. Lol, I know! My TBR is well over a thousand books right now. XD (I like reading series.) That’s cool you own a lot of her books! I really liked the movie, it’s one of Mom’s favorite’s too. I hope you enjoy the movie! I don’t know exactly when I’ll be able to read it, but I’ll let you know! 😀 *high-fives* I hope you love it too! ^_^ ❤

              Liked by 1 person

  5. Awwww! This was SUCH fun getting a closer peek into your writing life! I think it’s so special that a simple question from your brother propelled you to the life of pursuing writing. It’s such an amazing thing how God uses the smallest things to nudge us on the epic paths He has for our lives. We have an awesome God! I’m also SO glad you decided to keep pursuing writing! All your stories sound AH-MAY-ZIIIING!!!
    And SO MUCH YES to loving the act of writing. I, too, have maaany writing existential crises and wonder if I’m doing the right thing. But this passion inside us can’t be shaken away, nor should it! Creating stories is just a PART of us now, and I love that. I love how I couldn’t stop telling stories even if I wanted to!
    The tip you shared is so good too! I, also, have learned I just gotta let the words flow and shove my perfectionism out of the way if I ever hope to complete a draft. Sometimes we just have to make a mess before we can create something beautiful!
    This is such a great tag. Thank you so much for tagging me!!! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. *beams* I’m so glad you liked it! ^_^ It is such a special memory for me, and yes! We have such an awesome God! Writing is something I never want to give up, no matter how hard it gets. 🙂 Awwww, thank you so much!!! YES! That is exactly how I feel! I still love doing other things like baking and crafting, but creating stories is such a crucial part of who I am.
      Thank you! ^_^ Exactly! I can be a procrastinating perfectionist at times, I will procrastinate writing a scene by perfecting a different scene and I just get nothing done. XD Oh! I love how you put that! ❤
      You're welcome!!! ❤ *realizes she forgot to actually go tell people she tagged them*

      Like

  6. I loved reading your answers, Jen! And your questions that you asked are very creative too! I mean, I had to deeply think about some of them. And I love those types of questions!
    1. Lol, IDK what trope means XD
    2. My latest main character is Bentley and for the main character linkup by Maya Joelle, I introduced her. She’s shy on the outside, but on the inside, she loves nothing more than to hangout out with her friends and sculpt sculptures. Currently, she is working on an elephant. 🙂
    3. I love cliffhangers!!!! (For the most part)
    4. Do I have a specific time period of my writing? Nope. But I do love to write fantasy novels, and modern-day novels as well.
    5. I prefer writing a series, that way I get to spend more time with my characters XD

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you so much, Alexa!! Awww, I ‘m so glad you enjoyed my questions! ^_^
      *sheepish grin* yeah, I realized afterwards that not everyone knows what “trope” means. I should have added an explanation.
      Oooh! Bentley sounds great! That is so cool she sculpts and elephants are so cute! ^_^
      Haha, same. 😉
      Awesome! Fantasy is my fav and I do enjoy modern-day stories too.
      Nice! Spending time with characters is the best! 😀
      Thanks for answering my questions! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I loved reading about you became a writer!
    Ah, that advice. Hmmm, I edit a little while I’m writing but it is generally fixing a sentence or the typos so I can keep on writing. I find that leaving it drives my mind nuts. I can leave plot holes and write out bad scenes, but I can’t deal with really bad sentences or typos, which does slow me down but my main goal isn’t to write fast, it is to write, and I can write while doing that. I’m a strong believer in being pretty happy with my work and leaving those things won’t make writing the story a joyful thing, if that makes sense.
    Anyway, great post! I enjoyed seeing your thoughts on writing! ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you!! ❤
      Oh! Yes, I do edit a teeny tiny bit as I write, like you said, typos and such drive me crazy too. I just don't let myself go over previous work over and over again when I still have a story to write. Exactly! Finding the way to write that makes you happy is the key to the best writing life, if editing as you go is your thing, awesome! That makes perfect sense. 😀
      Thank you so much!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  8. So cool you got tagged!! Awesome answers!! Haha yeah books are probably my writing mentors! I have just read so much over the years and one day I said “ I want to be an author and we gotta start practicing.” And then boom! My WIP!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Awesome post, girl!!!!!!!❤️ I really loved hearing the story of your writing journey!!!!!!!! And *gasp* you follow Gail Carson Levine’s blog??! That is SO COOL!!!!!!! I’ve checked out her blog multiple times. I guess you know by now that Gail Carson Levine is one of my favorite authors!!!😉
    1. Do you have a favourite character trope? Hmm, well I guess like Issabelle said, if done right I’ll probably like it. 😉
    2. Can you introduce us to the main character (or characters) from your latest WIP? (Hehehe, I LOVE this question!!!!! I’m going to do a post very soon that will introduce everyone to my MCs) For now I shall tell you that my current WIP is written in an alternate POV. So I have to MCs. Their names are ——- — ——–. *mischievous grin* #notsorry🤐 (Though to be honest I did put the correct number of spacing for my character names so if anyone wanted to know that badly they would be able to take a wild guess.😉)
    3. How do you feel about cliffhangers from an author’s perspective? I LOVE CLIFFHANGERS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    4. What genre and/or time period do you feel at home writing in? I’m still discovering what genres and time periods work great for me. I really like variety in things and I hope to be able to write in a variety of genres. At the current moment I am writing a fantasy novel.
    5. Do you prefer writing stand-alones or series? Both (I think). I’ve never completed a novel but I have had lots of ideas for stand-alones and series.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much!!! <333 Haha, yup! I've followed her blog for about… *counts* …three years? Maybe four? Either way, I love her blog even though I'm not able to keep up with each post right now. Hehe, she's one of mine, too!!! 😉
      That is a good answer. 😉
      (I CAN'T WAIT!) Oooh! Two MCs!? Awesomeness! (Oh, haha, very funny! XD)
      By the exclamation points alone, I can tell. 😉 Cliffhangers are such fun!
      It's 100% fine to love more than one genre/time period! I love writing in a variety of genres too (plus time periods 😉 ). Fantasy is my fav, but I have ideas for all sorts of genres and combining genres. That's what's great about writing, you don't have to stick to a single genre, you can write in as many as you want. 😀
      Nice! Both are great! That's so great you have ideas for both! (most of mine always turn into a series. XD)
      Thanks for answering my questions! ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment